Dysart’s Timothy Freeland awarded scholarship

MercyOne recognizes scholarship recipients

Fifteen northeast Iowa students will each receive a $1,000 scholarship next school year for health care-related studies. The Friends of MercyOne Cedar Falls Medical Center as well as the Friends of MercyOne Waterloo Medical Center came together to select and honor the 2022 Friends as well as Gordon & Maria Wilson scholarship recipients. The scholarships are paid to recipients’ colleges or universities toward their tuition.

The 15 students are as follows:

Kiley Alcott, Belle Plaine

Mackenzie Curtis, Aurora

Gretchen Ellerbroek, Waverly

Alanna Fishel, Cedar Falls

Timothy Freeland, Dysart

Kendahl Freet, Waterloo

Gabrielle Gergen, Janesville

Caitlin Heine, Cedar Falls

Alana Higgins, Mount Auburn

Taylor Hoehns, Cedar Falls

Isabella Jorgensen, Hudson

Karlie Rickert, Reinbeck

Bailey Rustad, Cedar Falls

Ethan Schellhorn, Sumner

Abby Steimel, Waterloo

The Friends of Cedar Falls Medical Center and Friends of Waterloo Medical Center raise money each year through different opportunities such as scrub sales, plant sales and the May Breakfast in Cedar Falls. They also receive a grant from the McElroy Trust who helps pay for the scholarships. If you want to know more about these scholarships, please visit the MercyOne Northeast Iowa Friends webpage or call 319-272-7676.