North Tama honors 2023 senior class with annual awards night

Twenty-one North Tama Class of 2023 graduates (pictured) received a North Tama Dollars for Scholars award this year. PHOTO COURTESY OF LIZ BAUCH/NORTH TAMA DOLLARS FOR SCHOLARS

TRAER – The North Tama Community School District held its annual Senior Awards Night ceremony on Tuesday, May 16, in the high school gymnasium. Nearly 60 different scholarships were announced and/or awarded to the class of 2023 totaling tens of thousands of dollars including 21 local North Tama Dollars for Scholars awards worth $41,500 combined.

Ahead of the 7 p.m. ceremony, the nonprofit organization North Tama Dollars for Scholars held a public reception in the gym lobby.

Scholarship recipients are listed below.

-Iowa Governor’s Scholar Recognition Award: Olivia Ketter

-KWWL Best of the Class: Olivia Ketter

One of the new North Tama Dollars for Scholars awards this year is the Clutier Community Church-LaDonna Hora scholarship which was awarded to senior Erin Sealock, left, by Ben Espensheid in memory of Clutier High School Class of 1948 graduate LaDonna Mae Hora who passed away in 2020. PHOTO BY SOREN M. PETERSON

-Bernie Saggau Award: Grace Lidgett

-Iowa Girl Award: Jadyn Rausch

-American Citizenship Award: Olivia Ketter

-Red Cross Scholarship: Emma Boldy, Grace Lidgett, Madison Schults

-Jerry Cecak Memorial Scholarship: Levi Zobel, Breanna Sebetka, and Clayton Boldt

Three 4-H scholarships were awarded to North Tama seniors including (l-r) Clayton Boldt, Levi Zobel, and Madison McKee by Tama County Extension Youth Coordinator Jenny Hulme. PHOTO BY SOREN M. PETERSON

-Robert Powell Memorial Scholarship: Levi Zobel

-Keely Lyons Memorial Scholarship: Lainey Willenbring

-P.E.O. Chapter EC Scholarship: Grace Lidget, Madison McKee, Ella McKiernan

-Hometown Foods Scholarship: Lucas DeBoef and Hunter Finzen

-Bob Clark Memorial Scholarship: Emma Boldy

The Tama County Cattlemen’s Association scholarship was awarded to Levi Zobel, left, by Doug Elder. PHOTO BY SOREN M. PETERSON

-William & Mayme Podhajsky Memorial Scholarship: Michael Schrier and Clayton Boldt

-Harold Vorba Memorial Scholarship: Michael Schrier

-Traer Lions Club Scholarship: Michael Schrier and Lainey Willenbring

-Wayne Jansen Scholarship: Michael Schrier

-North Tama FFA Scholarship: Clayton Boldt

One of the new North Tama Dollars for Scholars awards this year was given in memory of David Brezina by Joni Brezina, right, to senior graduate Mikayla Bradley. Two additional scholarships were also given out in memory of Brezina to Michael Schrier and Levi Zobel (not pictured) earlier in the evening. PHOTO BY SOREN M. PETERSON

-Levi Beenken Memorial Scholarship: Clayton Boldt

-Max Morrison Memorial Scholarship: Michael Schrier

-Betty Clauer Ketter Memorial Scholarship: Lainey Willenbring

-Dr. Rudy R. Kubik Scholarship: Hayley Glaza

-Darrell & Maxine Karr Family Scholarship: Madison Schults

The Levi Beenken Memorial Scholarship was awarded to Clayton Boldt, left, by Logan Brubaker and Cody Jones, in memory of North Tama graduate Levi Beenken who died in a UTV accident in 2020 mere months after graduating high school. PHOTO BY SOREN M. PETERSON

-Linda Hosek Memorial Scholarship: Ella McKiernan

-James H. & Donna L. Young Scholarship: Grace Lidgett and Emma Boldy

-Darlys Hume Finance/Banking Scholarship: Olivia Ketter

-Tonya Rickert Memorial Scholarship: Grace Lidgett

-Rubline’s Excellence of Achievement Scholarship: Emma Boldy and Jadyn Rausch

-Mary Novak Scholarship: Lucas DeBoef

-Tama County Cattlemen: Levi Zobel

-Tama County Pork Producers: Clayton Boldt

-Tama County Farm Bureau Scholarship: Ireland Harmsen, Laney Willenbring, and Levi Zobel

-4-H Awards: Clayton Boldt, Madison McKee, and Levi Zobel

-Knights of Columbus Scholarship: Clayton Boldt

-Student School Board Member Honor: Olivia Ketter

-David Brezina Memorial Scholarship: Michael Schrier and Levi Zobel

North Tama Dollars for Scholars awards

-Kubik-Finch American Legion Post 142: Clayton Boldt and Madison McKee

-Memory of Jarold & Aileen Lister: Emma Boldy

-Memory of David Brezina: Mikayla Bradley

-Traer Methodist Church: Alexis Chizek

-John and Diane States Scholarship: Lucas DeBoef

-Class of 1967 and Class of 1972: Braelyn Ewoldt

-NuCara Pharmacy: Hunter Finzen

-Class of 1977 and Class of 1982: Sidney Fremont

-Gary Dinsdale Scholarship: Hayley Glaza

-North Tama Holiday Gift Shop: Ireland Harmsen

-Memory of Julia Kubik: Olivia Ketter

-Ripley United Church of Christ: Ella McKiernan

-North Tama Administrators: Jadyn Rausch

-Traer Methodist Church: Jack Schafer

-Bill Bonewitz Scholarship: Michael Schrier

-Memory of Don Wolfgram: Madison Schults

-Clutier Community Church-LaDonna Hora: Erin Sealock

-North Tama Staff: Breanna Sebetka

-Memory of Ross Hamilton: Lainey Willenbring

-Memory of Lanny Vest: Levi Zobel