Republicans capture all Tama County races in 2020

State Sen. Jeff Edler (R-State Center) and state Rep. Dean Fisher (R-Montour).

Republicans in Tama County have swept all state and local contests in Tuesday’s 2020 General Election.

In the upset of the night, William Faircloth (R-Toledo) overtook three-term incumbent Kendall Jordan (D-Toledo) in a race for the Tama County District 2 Supervisor seat. Unofficial vote totals show Faircloth surpassing Jordan 1,604 to 1,394 with all Tama County precincts reporting.

Incumbent Tama County Sheriff Dennis Kucera (R-Traer) won over challenger Jeffrey Schrock (D-Toledo) in unofficial results 6,276 to 2,639. Kucera will enter his sixth four-year term in January, 2021.

In the other local races, State Rep. Dean Fisher (R-Montour) won over his opponent, Christina Blackcloud (D-Tama) with all precincts in House District 72 reporting. Fisher will retain his seat for a fifth term after unofficial vote totals show Fisher’s 9,731 votes over Blackcloud’s 6,112.

House District 72 includes the southern and western portions of Marshall County and the southeastern corner of Black Hawk County including La Porte City.

William Faircloth (R-Toledo) and Tama County Sheriff Dennis Kucera (R-Traer) each captured wins in Tama County following unofficial returns late Tuesday.

Incumbent State Senator Jeff Edler (R-State Center) defeated challenger David Degner (R-Traer) in Senate District 36. With all precincts reporting from Tama, Marshall and Black Hawk counties, Edler will win with unofficial vote totals of 16,829 votes to Degner’s 10,948. Edler will begin his second term in the Iowa State Senate in 2021.

Auditor Laura Kopsa (D-Tama) and District 3 Supervisor Dan Anderson (D-Tama) both won reelection and were unopposed on the ballot.

Kopsa will be entering her fourth term and Anderson his third.

Donald Trump-Mike Pence (R) tallied 5,231 votes in Tama County to 3,622 for the Joe Biden-Kamala Harris (D) ticket in unofficial returns.

U.S. Senator Joni Ernst (R-Red Oak) received 5,085 Tama County votes with opponent Theresa Greenfield (D-Des Moines) receiving 3,586.

State Rep. Ashley Hinson out-polled incumbent U.S. Rep. Abby Finkenauer (D-Cedar Rapids) in Tama County 5,145 to 3,746.

Look for more Election 2020 coverage in this week’s North Tama Telegraph.