Dysart Community Foundation accepting grant applications

The Dysart Community Foundation held its Annual Meeting at 6:30 p.m. on March 20, at the Dysart Community Building. The 2023 Board of Directors for the Foundation elected during the meeting include: Pamela Thiele, Chair, representing the City of Dysart; Sarah Carter, representing the Dysart Development Corporation; and Reta Callahan, Secretary, representing the Dysart Fine Arts Women’s Club. Other members of the Board include: Bret Hennessy representing Farmers Savings Bank & Trust, Linda Thompson representing the Dysart Lions Club, Michael Barfels representing the Farmers Savings Bank & Trust, and Jenna Scott representing the Union Community School District. The Board accepted Reta Callahan’s appointment to a five-year term at this meeting.

The Dysart Community Foundation is a 501(c)3 tax-exempt organization with the purpose of receiving and accepting gifts for educational, cultural, community betterment and other charitable purposes. Foundation assets are segregated and administered as funds consisting of a General Fund, an Endowment Fund, and donor amounts directed for specific purposes. The Foundation distributes contributions from the community and Endowment investment income through a competitive grant process to Dysart area non-profit groups, for the purpose of enhancing the quality of life for residents here. Since inception, the Dysart Community Foundation has distributed $99,760 to the community, including $86,418 in grants to twenty-three entities. In 2022, $2,725 was allocated for grant awards to the Norma Anders Public Library for its “Read Beyond the Beaten Path” summer reading program, Vision Dysart for its pocket park project, Dysart Historical Society for its “West on the Orphan Train” summer school, and the Dysart Tree Board for rock at the city entrances.

From contributions of numerous local individuals and families, and by City of Dysart funding from the Opal Heckroth Estate as permanent Endowment, the Foundation will be awarding grants this spring. A 2023 grant application may be obtained at the Norma Anders Public Library, Dysart City Hall, or Farmers Cooperative Telephone Company during their business hours. An application may also be written using an online application at dysart1997@gmail.com. We encourage Dysart non-profit organizations to apply for grants to supplement their community-based projects. Submit completed grant applications to the Dysart Community Foundation, PO Box 143, Dysart, IA 52224, postmarked no later than Saturday, April 29, 2023.

Gift planning through the Dysart Community Foundation is an effective way to make a lasting impact on the quality of life for citizens of all ages in our local community for years to come. Visit with Rick Krug, Trust Officer, at Farmers Savings Bank & Trust, Trustee, (319-478-2148, ext. 118), or your attorney to create possibilities for the betterment of Dysart in your own personal way.