Thomsen, Holschlag win state titles

Union’s Max Thomsen became a three-time state champion after defeating Clear Lake’s Andres Gonzalez in the 138-pound category. Check out this week's print issue for photos of all seven wrestlers!

Max Thomsen joined an elite list of three-time state champions with his 5-4 decision in the Class 2A state wrestling championship match in Des Moines on Saturday.

Thomsen, who had not lost a match all year, pinned his first three opponents en route to the final at 138 pounds, where he faced Andres Gonzalez of Clear Lake.

Jacob Holschlag also took home a state title at 160 pounds, winning a 3-2 decision in the championship match over Mediapolis’ Drew Foster.

Derek Holschlag, wrestling in the 106-pound division, won his opening-round match with a pin of Central’s Bryant Woodford. Holschlag fell in the quarterfinals against New Hampton’s Connor Cleveland.

Ryder Albertsen represented the Knights at 120 pounds and fell to Clarinda’s Blake Luna in opening-round action. Trevor McLaughlin was defeated by Centerville’s Bradley Irwin at 145 pounds, and Cole Reiter lost a 3-0 decision to Davenport Assumption’s Danny Bush.

Jace Hadachek lost a 7-4 decision to Sheldon/South O’Brien’s Darin Greenfield in the 195-pound division.