Redhawks split on the mats in Conrad

Zook takes down Sigourney-Keota’s No. 5 Clarahan

North Tama's Aiden Zook - ranked eighth in Class 1A at 170# - looks to the ref during a dual earlier this season in La Porte City. Photo by Ruby F. Bodeker

The North Tama Redhawks wrestlers scored a win and a loss this week as they traveled to BCLUW High School in Conrad for a quad with Sigourney-Keota and South Hardin-BCLUW.

Two days prior, on Tuesday, Dec. 14, their dual with BGM was canceled due to sickness among the BGM wrestlers.

The Redhawks lost to Sigourney-Keota 57-14 but beat SH-BCLUW 48-14.

Standout performances included Aiden Zook (170) who took down Sigourney-Keota’s No. 5 ranked Jack Clarahan by decision 7-4 as well as his SH-BCLUW opponent Wyatt Guiles by fall.

The Redhawks No. 3 ranked Case Monat (106) went 1-1 on the mats with a win by fall over SH-BCLUW’s River Woosley in quick 0:08 pin and a loss to Sigourney-Keota’s Reanah Utterback by fall.

Kolt Knaack (132) also logged victories on the mat with two wins by fall.

North Tama Head Coach Andrew Knaack said he was impressed with both Zook and Knaack’s performances Thursday night, but expressed some disappointment in the team’s overall performance.

“I was disappointed about how we competed as a team against Sigourney,” Knaack said. “We were winning some matches then we let them come back and beat us. We have to learn to dig deep and fight to the end. We did bounce back and put it on [SH-BCLUW]. That is the kind of team we can be when firing on all cylinders.”

Gavin Rausch (126) put up the Redhawks’ only other win against Sigourney-Keota with a win by fall.

In their takedown of SH-BCLUW, Nathan Kucera (138), Drake Podhajsky (145), Clay Hershberger (195), and Wyatt Hitchcock (220) all took wins by fall over their host opponents.

“We have one more competition before break,” Coach Knaack said, “then we will have a chance to recharge our minds and bodies before the push to the state tournament.”

The Redhawks were set to wrestle on their home mats on Tuesday, Dec. 21 beginning at 6:15 p.m. in the Redhawks Nest. Teams set to compete include Dike-New Hartford, Gladbrook-Reinbeck, and West Marshall.